Maryland Society of Professional Engineers


In 1937, NSPE was petitioned by members who lived in Maryland for a charter to establish the Maryland Society of Professional Engineers. The society was established on March 23, 1938 when Charter # 21 signed by the NSPE President was received. The founding members were:

Russell B. Allen James E. Pratt
G. Milton Benson Walter L. Simpson
Willard S. Conlon Charles M. Upham
Fred W. Gast De Witt Clinton Webb
Abbott L. Penniman, Jr. Abel Wolman

The Society files list 110 Charter Members. Fred W. Gast served for three years as the first president and was succeeded by Russell B. Allen, PE for the next two years. Allen later became Treasurer of N.S.P.E. for many years. This dedicated group aided in the adoption of the Maryland registration law that was signed by Governor O'Conner on May 27, 1939. The Society was incorporated on April 19, 1947. Charles A. Mohr, PE was the last president before incorporation.

During the period of 1938 to 1955 there were no local chapters of the MSPE. Prior to 1947, members of the MSPE were thinly scattered throughout the state, except for member concentrations in the Baltimore metropolitan area and in Montgomery and Prince Georges counties. In 1956 the first chapter, Baltimore, was chartered. Since then the number has expanded until today, there are eight local chapters and a total membership of more than one thousand.

Past Presidents Since Incorporation

 1946-47  Col. James A. Pratt, PE  1980-81  Eric S. Walbeck, PE
 1947-48  Harry L. Katz, PE  1981-82  George A. Simpson, PE
 1948-49  Owen W. Turpin, PE  1982-83  John C. Dale, PE
 1949-50  Paul W. Backus, PE  1983-84  Ronald P. Lenert, PE
 1950-51  Arthur M. Gompf, PE  1984-85  Elmer J. Leister, PE
 1951-53  James J. O'Donnell, PE  1985-86  William J. Teach, PE
 1953-55  Louis G. Smith, PE  1986-87  J. Jay Pecora, PE
 1955-56 Ernest H. Hanhart, PE  1987-88  Jerry A. Valcik, PE
 1956-57  Frank E. Winslow, PE  1988-89  Werner Kloetzli
 1957-59  Benjamin E. Bevin, Sr., PE  1989-90  Francis W. Kuchta, PE
 1959-60  Victor J. Richter, PE  1990-91  Wallace S. North, Jr. PE
 1960-62  G. Philip Stout, PE  1991-92 Romeo Freer, PE 
 1962-63  Albert P. Backus, PE  1992-93  Charles B. Pittinger Jr., PE-LS
 1963-64  Robert G. Deitrich, PE  1993-94  Randolph A. Peterson, PE
 1964-66  H. Bruce Baty, PE  1994-95  Eduardo Acevedo, PE
 1966-67  Frederick Jeffers, PE  1995-96  Wayne B. Ericksen, PE
 1967-68  John C. Handy, PE  1996-97  John Erdman, PE
 1968-69  Theodore Yaffe, PE  1997-98  William R. Gluck, PE
 1969-71 David Kamoroff, PE  1998-99

Robert M. Gagnon, PE

 1971-72  Harry O. Huss, PE  1999-00 David Herring, PE 
 1972-73  James C. Johnson, PE  2000-01 Marc Hurwitz, PE 
 1973-74  Horace Lehneis, PE  2001-02 Michael Clar, PE
 1974-75  Lawrence E. Jones, PE  2002-03  Robert G. Sebastian, PE
 1975-76  James F. Lawrence, PE  2003-04  James D. Lesikar, II PhD, PE
 1976-77  James S. Spamer, PE  2004-05  Jonathan Blasco, PE

 James F. Mills, PE

 2005-06 John A. Rutt, PE
 1978-79  Carl D. Walbeck, PE  2006-07 Manoj Jha, PhD, PE
1979-80   James F. Shook, PE  2007-08 David Thaler, PE, LS, F.ASCE,
                           2008-09  William Mehaffey, PE
     2009-11     William Ryan, MS, PE


MDSPE College of Fellows Recipients

In recognition of a long and distinguished career in the practice of engineering, and for having exhibited personal and professional qualities that have served as a role model for practitioners, and for having advanced in the state of the profession, these members have been designated as fellows of the Society.


Gene Harvey, PE


Robert G. Sebastian, PE


J.Jay Pecora, PE


William R. Gluck, PE


Eduardo Acevedo, PE


Wallace S. North, Jr., PE




Become a Member


MDSPE Headquarters
3601 E. Joppa Road
Baltimore, MD 21234